Thursday , July 9 2020 12:10 pm
Home / Politics / 22 new Ghanaian envoys tasked to protect country’s image abroad

22 new Ghanaian envoys tasked to protect country’s image abroad

By: KALD| MyKuulFMonline| July 11, 2017

Some 22 ambassadors and High Commissioners have been appointed by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to man the country’s missions abroad.

Among them is the 2016 flagbearer of the People’s National Convention, Dr Edward Mahama, who has been appointed as Ghana’s Ambassador-at-large.

As Ambassador-at-large, Dr Mahama has been made a diplomat of the highest rank, with special duties, and can represent the country anywhere internationally.

At a brief but colourful ceremony at the Flagstaff House on Monday, the President presented Dr. Mahama with his letter of credence, together with 21 others.

President Akufo-Addo said the appointees who had distinguished themselves in several fields, were carefully selected as ambassadors to safeguard and promote the interest of the country outside its shores.

He has thereby advised the diplomats to guard jealously, the country’s image because they were the visible symbols of the country.

The President also reminded the envoys of the onerous responsibility of government to build a resilient economy and create decent employment for the teeming youth.

He thus, urged them to work closely with the relevant ministries to direct foreign investments into the country for the attainment of the government’s industrialization agenda.

Among the 22 new envoys is, a former Volta Regional Minister, Mr Kwasi Owusu-Yeboah, ambassador to Togo, Lawyer Joseph Ayikoi Otoo and Mr Mike Nii Nortey Oquaye Jnr, High Commissioners to Canada and India respectively.

Below is the list of ambassadors

Mrs Selma Frances Mancell-Egala – Turkey

Mr Paul Okoh – Egypt

Mrs Mercy Bampo Addo – Malta

Mr Kwasi Owusu-Yeboah – Togo

Ms Sophia Horner-Sam – Netherlands

Ms Amerley Ollennu Awua-Asamoa –Denmark

Ms Eliabeth Salamatu Forgor – Namibia

Mr Joseph Ayikoi Otoo – Canada

Napoleon Abdulai – Cuba

Margaret Ekua Prah – Zambia

Ms Esther Dzifa Ofori – Equatorial Guinea

Prof Abena Pokua A. Busia – Brazil

Ms Paulina Patience Abayage – Italy

Mr. George Ayisi-Boateng – South Africa

Naa Bolinaa Sakaa – Burkina Faso

Mr Mike Nii Nortey Oquaye Jnr – India

Sheikh T.B Damba – Saudi Arabia

Mr William Azuma Awinador Kanyirigi – Ethiopia

Rasheed Seidu Inusah – Ambassador-at-large


Source: Online



Check Also

Long queues at campuses, as Free SHS begins

By: KALD|| September 11, 2017 The much awaited free Senior High School policy implementation took …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *