Monday , June 1 2020 2:22 am
Home / Politics / 16 Volta MMDCEs sworn into office

16 Volta MMDCEs sworn into office

By: Kald|MyKuulFMonline|May 22, 2017

Dr. Archibald Letsa

Sixteen out the expected 25 Municipal and District chief executives who were approved by the respective assemblies in the Volta region are been sworn into office on Monday.

The new MMDCEs took the oaths of Office, Allegiance and Secrecy administered by the Regional Minister, Dr. Archibald Letsa at a brief ceremony held at Conference room of the Residency in Ho.

The 16 successfully sailed through the Confirmation polls held across the region in last 2-weeks, which saw the outright rejection of 7 nominees, including the only 3 females.

The Regional Minister administering the oath to the MMDCEs

Among those sworn-in, were Nelson Akorli, Seth Yormewu, Edem Elliot Agbewornu and Elvis Kweku Djampoh, all Municipal Chief Executives of Ho, Keta, Ketu South and Kpando respectively.

The Regional Minister in his address, admonished the appointees to work and justify the confidence reposed in them by the President through or losing the positions to equally competent persons in their various jurisdictions.

He said the President would not countenance any act of incompetence on the part of appointees in prosecuting his agenda of developing and transforming the every part of the country, hence tasked

“As you would admit, there are a significant number of interested people on the touchline ready to take-over your positions if you fail. That is enough motivation for you to perform creditably without being prodded to do your duties as expected,” he stated.

Dr. Letsa also entreated the MMDCEs to immediately hit the ground running to implement the various programmes and policies of the government in their respective jurisdictions but within the confines of the various legislations governing the local governance structure in order not to fall foul of the laws of the country.

Mr. Kenwud Nuworsu, a former Regional chairman of NPP advised the MMDCEs to keep a good relationship between the Party and government, so as to forestall any agitation from party supporters against their mandates.

The Deputy Regional minister, Mr. Maxwell Blagodzi, said the basis for the rejection of some of the nominees, in some cases was due to party infighting and also complacency on the part of others.

He therefore entreated the rejected nominees to endevour to win the trust of the respective Assembly Members if granted a second opportunity by the President through renomination.

Traditional leaders, Heads of decentralized Departments and Agencies, NPP party stalwarts and other well wishers witnessed the ceremony.


Chiefs at the Ceremony

Others MMDCEs who took part in the swearing-in include, Wisdom Semanu Seneadza, Afadjato South; Thomas Moore Zoranyah, Central Tongu; Ernest Victor Appau, Ho West; Lawrence Aziale, Jasikan; Maxwell Kofi Asiedu, Kadjebi; and Anthony Avorgbedor for Ketu North.

The rest are Krachi East, Patrick Jilma, Krachi Nchumuru, Augustine Appiah, Krachi West, Douglas Osei Nti, Nkwanta North, Jakayi Jackson, Nkwanta South, John Thasun, and North Dayi, Kudjo Edmund Atta.



Check Also

Long queues at campuses, as Free SHS begins

By: KALD|| September 11, 2017 The much awaited free Senior High School policy implementation took …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *